Original Things

Original things for original people.

Well I Never . . .

Leave a comment

I was 5 years old when my grandmother taught me of how to knit and crochet. Which was great, but all I could make at the time was scarves and little blankets for my dolls.

I didn’t really become serious about knitting and crocheting until 15 years ago when one of my best friends became pregnant with her first child. I had this brilliant idea of making her a blanket, and it wasn’t any type of blanket, it was one of those blankets that the baby would use from baby to adulthood.

My mother had to teach me of how to do granny squares again. That itself was interesting since she was right-handed and I was left-handed. That is why I crochet with my right hand. That was when it hit me that I didn’t know of how to read a pattern or what the abbreviations meant. Like for example:

(K2tog, YO) x 3, P3, sl st, K3

For the non-knitters, it means (Knit 2 stitches together, yarn over), do that step 3 times before Plural 3 stitches, slip stitch, Knit 3. And this is not from any pattern, this is entirely from the top of my head in case anyone was wondering of what pattern I was using.

My first assignment in the class was to find a pattern for beginner, something to bring to class to work on. I searched high and low on the internet for a pattern.

I wanted something small and practical. An afghan was out because of the size, a basic sweater was out because it involved measuring and sewing. I remembered finding a whole section on patterns for the bathroom and I don’t mean the washclothes. (Which I ended up choosing.)

I found patterns for toilet seats covers and covers for the toilet tops (is that what you call it?) It reminded me of one of my great aunt’s homes. Besides the fact the whole house smell, I remember seeing those toilet seat covers. I think my brother was even afraid of going in there, in case he accidentally pees on the cover. I swore up and down to myself, that I would never knit or crochet any of those things. I have enough patterns of afghans, sweaters, slippers, scarves, and toys that I can make in 3 lifetimes.

Well I kind of changed my mind. I just finished this toilet paper cover.

SAM_0345

Jackie Bloom designed this octopus pattern. The link

Crazy Little OctopusCrazy Little Octopus

When I first saw it, I thought that this was cute. I admit that I had to tweak it a bit to fit my own toilet paper. Maybe Canada’s toilet paper is different, I don’t know. Either way, I thinks her is cute. I am planning to do 2 or 3 more, I’m just deciding on the color. I might have to googled octopus to see of what colors they are.

I’m still trying to fix my keyboard. I have a feeling that I might take it in tomorrow. Oh goody.

Author: lesleysoriginalthings

I have an online business where I sell handmade items including cards, teddy bears, scarves and bags.

Leave a Reply

