Original Things

Original things for original people.

Things With Wings

Leave a comment

Operation Write Home had issue a challenge last Wednesday, about making a card that has wings. I thought this would be a perfect time to try out Stephanie Barnard Dragonfly die-cut and stamp from Sizzlex. I love her stamps and die cuts. I already have a shopping list of what I want to buy. The only thing that is stopping me is of course, money.

I also got to try out the new Cuttleblug embossing folder that I purchased about a month or so ago.

And I do admit that it gave me a break from sorting out my stamps, and trying to come up with a better way to store them. I originally thought that this would be an easy challenge. But it wasn’t. I ended up making six cards before deciding on these two and right now, I still have no idea of which one I am going to use.

I ended up using Sketch #174 from Operation Write Home, just as a starting point. Sketch #174

SAM_0551

The dragonfly card is made from scraps so I don’t know the name of the paper. I am trying to use up all of my scraps because my pile is getting big and of course, like any scrapper or card maker, we don’t have the heart to toss them out.

However the die cut and stamp are from Stephanie Barnard, “Dragonflies”. It was a challenge to do a die cut first and then stamp. With my Spellbinders, I stamp then cut. I ended up doing the cut several times before getting it right. I realized then that I probably need a stamp press. I remembered when they first came out, I thought they were too big, what was the point. Boy, I was sure wrong on that. I might be putting that on my Christmas wish list. The embossing folder is Anna Griffin’s Poppy. As to the “Hi There,” I found it in my stamp box. It fell out of its sheet. So you see of one of m problems with the stamps, they are not sticky anymore.

SAM_0549

The Fairy Card. I used Posies Glitter Print from DCWV company. The fairy stamp is from Inkadinkado, “Beautiful Fairies”. I really like the stamp and was happy that I can actually use them. I think it tells you of how many stamps I have if I don’t use every one of them. I was pleased of how the watercolor turned out. I used Anna Griffin’s Poppy embossing folder.

So this is my result. And before I end this, I have to ask, it is just me, but does this challenge give anyone cravings for chicken wings?

Author: lesleysoriginalthings

I have an online business where I sell handmade items including cards, teddy bears, scarves and bags.

Leave a Reply

