Original Things

Original things for original people.

Cards in Envy Sketch #6 Challange

6 Comments

I have been working on my Alphabet Card series, not to mention, roasting in this heat. I find it funny when it was the middle of winter, everyone I knew was wishing for the summer, and now we are complaining that it is too hot.

Anyway, back to the blog, I came across this Cards in Envy Blog at http://cardsinenvy.blogspot.ca/ .

Meanwhile, they had this sketch as a challenge. Sketch 6

When I saw it, I knew that it was perfect for my new stamp set, “A Year in Flowers 2” designed by Marcella Hawley. I love the detail of these stamps because it is great for watercolor. I came up with this card.

SAM_0733

Although this time, I colored the stamp with Tim Holtz’s Mustard Seed yellow and Peeled Paint Green Distress Markers. I inked the inner circle with Mustard Seed Yellow ink pad. The Happiness sentiment is from Close to my Heart, “Floral Happiness” and the green pattern paper is Bo Bunny, “Wasabi Vintage”. The ribbons are my scrap ribbons and the cardstock is from my Recollection paper from Michaels.

Once I was finished with the card, I noticed two small black marks from the black ink. And to be completely honest, I am happy with that. It gives the imperfection look which I love because I believe a handmade card is far better than store brought card. You actually took the time to make the card for the person you like.

In other news, I am hoping that this week, I can get the Facebook page of Original Things set up and finish redoing the pictures. Where I finally figure out of how to do a backdrop for the white cards. But this heat is starting to get to me.

So I am going to end this, wishing everyone a goodnight. I am done with the cards today and maybe do some knitting tonight.

Author: lesleysoriginalthings

I have an online business where I sell handmade items including cards, teddy bears, scarves and bags.

6 thoughts on “Cards in Envy Sketch #6 Challange

  1. Such a pretty card. Thanks for playing along with us at Cards in Envy.

  2. I love the colors on your card! So pretty. And I totally agree – handmade cards are sooo much better than bought ones. Thank you for joining us at Cards in Envy! Hope to see more of your talent on future challenges. ~ Marilyn

  3. Beautiful card! I love the colors and the pretty rose! Thanks for using our sketch and sharing it with us at Cards in Envy!

  4. This is so pretty! I LOVE that beautiful image and I adore the use of the ribbon for the strips across diagonally! Beautiful work! šŸ™‚

  5. Love the stamped flower, so pretty! Thanks for playing along with us at Cards In Envy!

  6. so pretty!!! LOVE the colors and image!!! so glad you played along with Cards in Envy!!!!

Leave a Reply

