Original Things

Original things for original people.

Sketch Challenge #180

Leave a comment

Operation Write Home had this sketch out last Sunday, which I honestly thought it was going to be easy.
180

But as the old saying goes, “Appearances can be deceiving” This hold true to this sketch. What kept throwing me was the two rectangles on the right side.

Normally I would try it three times and if it doesn’t work, I move on. However, for some unknown reason, I refused to let this sketch beat me. So on the fifth attempt and at two o’clock in the morning, this idea came to me.

SAM_0747

What about doing a faux layer on the card. And that is what I ended up doing. I ripped a sheet of regular paper in half and taped it down on top of the white card stock. Then I rubbed the sides, carefully without tearing the paper or having it curl up on me, with Tim Holtz’s Mowed Lawn distressed ink.

SAM_0748

I then stamped leaves on the color bar. I inked the edges of the white cardstock, green cardstock and white card using the same ink. The sentiment is from “Thinking of You” from Art Gone Wild. I was very pleased with the results.

SAM_0740

I also tried it using my Creative Memories, Wavy Cutter which again I was pleased with the results.

SAM_0744

Author: lesleysoriginalthings

I have an online business where I sell handmade items including cards, teddy bears, scarves and bags.

Leave a Reply

