Original Things

Original things for original people.

Taking Pictures

Leave a comment

One of the good things about having a digital camera is that you can take up to a 100 pictures to get that one perfect shot and not worry about wasting film.  Even though, I didn’t take a 100 pictures, I did take at least 30 of one card.  Jen from Splendid Stamping showed a tutorial of how to take pictures of your cards. She brought up a few good points like reading your manual.  At the moment, I kind of misplaced my manual.  I have a feeling it is in a pile of old magazines that that I am currently going through.  Anyway, so I thought, since I had a digital, why not just try the buttons and see of what comes out.  Here is a set up of the photo shoot of the card.

SAM_0785

I ended up going with white foam boards for the cards and I already brought the black foam boards for the white cards. The chair with my note pad, I ended up using it to rest my elbows as I took the pictures so I don’t shake the camera. I think I might have to start thinking of getting myself a tripod for my camera.   However at the moment, I think this set up will do.  I noticed a couple of photos that you can tell the difference from Setting A to Setting B.

Like with this  SAM_0765  and SAM_0774.  The first photo is taken with the Tungsten setting in the White Balance mode with the ISO setting of 100 while the second it is set with Daylight setting with the ISO setting of 800.

However with these two photos,  SAM_0772 and SAM_0774.  The only difference is the ISO setting.  To be honest, I can’t really tell the difference.  And in case, anyone was interest of why the post it notes are there, it tells me which setting I used.

But as I am typing this, I am wondering if I would have the same results if I used a white card with a black background?  As well today is a sunny day with hardly any clouds.  What happens if tomorrow or any day was a cloudy day when I take pictures of my cards?   I will try it again with the black background tomorrow.  And I might have to take another a look at the photos later on tonight.

Author: lesleysoriginalthings

I have an online business where I sell handmade items including cards, teddy bears, scarves and bags.

Leave a Reply

