Original Things

Original things for original people.

This, That, And Everything Else in Between

Leave a comment

Once again, I apologized for not updating my blog again. But once again, my keyboard died on me in less than 3 months from having it replaced. But this time, I didn’t drop my smart phone on it. I’m going to give it one more attempt in trying to fix it before I call the company. Which by the way, I threw out the number. I am sorely tempted to demand my money back on the keyboard, except the computer is in my boyfriend’s name. Already, I can feel a migraine coming.

I’m thinking of getting a wire keyboard. Granted wires will be hooking up to my computer and there is no doubt in my mind, that is going to be a royal pain, but surely it would be easier than it is right now. Right?

So once again, I am borrowing my friend’s laptop. I also had brain fart, I couldn’t remember my password for the longest time. As you can, I finally did. I think my age is starting to get to me. Great.

But I finally got all of my dishcloths done with the help of my mother. I’m definitely treating her for lunch. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to complete 50 dishcloths as planned, I was only to get 40 done. Time restrictions as the big part of it. I needed to work on the scarves and such. I already completed a scarf, minus weaving in the ends. However my mother said that if she has some free time from now until the day before the sale, she might be able to make more.

Here are the dishclothes that I completed. SAM_1007

My art journal fell apart on me. IMG409

Lady L suggested that I should tie a ribbon around it and start a new one. As tempting as it is, but I am planning to bring it with me on my little holiday. And I really do not have time to prep the pages. However I was tempted to throw out the small section of the journal because as I continue to work on the journal, decorating more pages, the journal expands, making it more difficult to close. Except in the small section of the journal, I already have a page complete. I really didn’t want to redo the page again.

I know at Simon Say Stamp, they sell art journals, those SMASH Books, and Dylusions journals. I can tell you right now, the SMASH books are a sore subject for me. And the Dylusion journals, they do look nice, but either way, I can’t order anything online right now.

Right now, I got the pages duct tape together

IMG410

and gluing a piece of drawing paper on top.

IMG412

I apologized for the quality of the picture, it was taken on my smart phone because my camera was charging at the time and I really didn’t want to wait. So right now, I am hoping that they would hold.

Except I found out that I wrecked some of my pages. I was told if you use car wax between the pages, they won’t stick together. It didn’t work. In fact, it faded my horse’s page where I had to rewrite the quote, it really wreck my One Stroke flower page and royalty screw up my circle page where I have to redo the page again.

So Art Journal Lesson: Car wax DOES NOT work at all.

I also been sorting out my papers like sketches, patterns, and misc notes. Where I learned a valuable lesson. When you get an idea for an upcoming card, write DETAIL notes. I found little lists of stamps with titles of “Masking” and “Embossing”. Which is fine and dandy, but what was the card design?

Awhile back ago, I read on facebook on knitting projects. Which also goes very well in crochet. Go through your WIP (Work in Progress) pile. Figure out which ones that I am going to do and figure out which ones that I honestly do not see myself completing. And then ripped them out. I know it is going to be heart breaking and hard, but I thinking seeing that pile smaller might take away some of my stress.

And I have no idea of when is my holiday is. I’m hoping soon. I’m going to text my boyfriend to see if he has any idea. His idea of packing is throwing everything in a bag and hop on his bag. My way of packing is obviously different. Maybe it is a girl’s thing, but I like to have things that matches. But I also know that I am going to have some time on my own, so besides my art journal, I trying to figure out if I should bring a knitting/ crochet project with me and if so, which one. Since my boyfriend is a smoker, obviously, it cannot be for Original Things.

I have been working on 2 blankets at once. (Technically, I am working 8 blankets at once). But these 2 are basically the same pattern. Little squares knitted either in garter stitch or in small idiot style squares. Then sew them together like a patchwork blanket. It is also a great way to get rid of my oddball stash.

I think I have updated of what is going on and I hope that I didn’t bore you to death.

Author: lesleysoriginalthings

I have an online business where I sell handmade items including cards, teddy bears, scarves and bags.

Leave a Reply

