Original Things

Original things for original people.

The Final Countdown

Leave a comment

I have now less than two days before the sale and strangely enough, I’m almost done. I would still like to make more bears and hats, but I am forcing my arm to rest. The pain is almost gone, but I am not tempting it. I’m thinking and hoping that I will get an order during the sale. And I want to tell the person, “Sure, not a problem” instead of “Could you wait until after Christmas?” All I have to do is pack and redo the sign. But the fact that I am done before the sale, feels strange.

I have been working on Artist Trading Cards where I had come up with an idea of sprucing up the sunflower cards by using the Triple Layer Technique. It did work, my challenge is now to get the colors to match.

I thought that I was doing a good job, until I realized that I royalty screwed up. I thought the size was 2 by 3 inches. It is actually 2 1/2 by 3 1/2 inches. Shoot is right. And I have a pile of pre-cut cardstock and watercolor paper ready to be use. I’m not tossing them out , I might beable to use them as a layer or part of paper piecing.

I’m also toying the idea of mail art. I have been suffering from insomnia for about a month now. I do actually sleep for a couple of hours, but I’m also tossing and turning in bed. I ended up watching You-Tube videos. I find a couple of good documentaries of the Terra Cotta Soldiers, the First Samaria and even a couple of Jack the Ripper. There were a few where I got a couple of ideas for my art journal and ATC. Now I’m watching Mail Art videos. I was thinking of doing one mail art and mail in Canada, after the sale.  Just give me something to do while my arm heals.  Nope.  I’m working on six envelopes right now before the sale.

However one of the envelope has given me an idea using it as part of a letter for my penpal.  I’m just going with the flow.

Before I leave, I want to show you an art journal page that I recently completed.  I got inspired from the mail art that I did a page on letters.

SAM_1199

While searching through the love letters that have been written from people, I admit that I had found a few that made me blush.  And there were a few that I actually wished that why can’t my boyfriend write me letters like this.  I know he loves me.

SAM_1202 SAM_1204

These are actually love letters written by Jimi Hendrick and Mark Twain.

I’m actually enjoying working on this journal.  I think it is because I miss painting and drawing.  And I am thinking that is why I have the desire to work on ATC and mail art.

Author: lesleysoriginalthings

I have an online business where I sell handmade items including cards, teddy bears, scarves and bags.

Leave a Reply

