Original Things

Original things for original people.

Dollar Stores

Leave a comment

When the dollar stores first came out, I was happy because you can buy things for a dollar.  Where as in other stores, it cost more.  But I learned very quickly that things aren’t always what they seem.   For example, their journals, I ended up spending more money and time on repairing it with scotch tape.  The pens either leaked or they were poor quality.  So back then, the only good that the dollar stores were good for was the candy.

However it changed over the years.  Big name brands were starting to appear.  I was still weary of their art supplies.  Again, I prefer quality over quanity and if I have to spend a few more dollars for it, so be it.  But then some of the same art supplies were selling at other stores and at a more expensive price.   Same brand, same packaging.  Everything.

Plus they had books that I can use them for art journal and not feel bad that I am destroying a book published in the 1940s.

In my personal opinion there are a few things that I can use for my art journaling, but not for Original Things.  The quality is still quite as good.  I know I am being fussy.

So the next time, you are at a dollar store, check out the craft sections, you may be surprise.  As well think outside of the box, per say;

  • Cleaning rags – to clean up your mess.
  • Bubble wrap – besides use for mailing, it makes a great background stamp.
  • Envelopes – Mail art or albums
  • Plastic plates – for paint palettes
  • Paper or plastic cups – for mixing paint
  • Paper bags – for albums
  • Children’s plastic place mats – they can be use as Tim Holtz’s mats
  • Sketchpads – not for sketching, but for paper inside the books that I bind.  And easy to make wrapping paper.
  • Duct tape
  • Aluminium tape
  • Painter’s tape
  • Sponges – cleaning and stamping.
  • Rubbing alcohol- make alcohol sprays
  • Paper towels
  • Plastic bins storage
  • Twine – cards and book binding

The lists goes on and on

Author: lesleysoriginalthings

I have an online business where I sell handmade items including cards, teddy bears, scarves and bags.

Leave a Reply

