Original Things

Original things for original people.

Blank Canvas VS Drawn Canvas

Leave a comment

I had to take a break from the Cheap Art Challenge because I had an order for Koda’s Kountry.  This was probably the hardest order to fill.  Not hard as in to fill, hard as to staying awake.  I found myself falling asleep on the couch a couple of times during the day.  So the good news, my insomnia may be over, the bad news is it is during the day where I need natural light to work with.  So my internal clock is screwed.  Oh goody.

I didn’t have time to take many photos, but here of what is going to Koda’s Kountry.

20160803_003717[1] IMG_20160721_143333[1] IMG_20160721_143052[1] 20160803_114600[1]

Would someone please remind me to see if they have a blog or a website so I can link this blog to.

Back to the challenge. Some artists have difficulties or even fears of “The Blank Canvas”.  When I was in art college, we had a visiting artist who would splash some color on the canvas even before her classes began in order to get rid of her fear.

You are right when I first started this challenge, I had that fear.  I did not know of what to draw.  When I finally picked out my subject and sketch it out.  Which by the way, I did this at night and without wearing my glasses or contacts.  I am nearsighted.

In case, you are wondering, I used this pencil and eraser.

20160719_163752[1]

The eraser was a prize from a cereal box, many years ago.  And the pencil was just lying around the house.  I still have all of my pencils from collage and highschool.  I might be a hoarder when it comes to that.  Either way, they were free.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BIa-qYrAHT3/?taken-by=originalthings152&hl=en

#cheapartsupplychallenge begins. And ironically, I drew this without wearing my glasses last night.

A post shared by Original Things (@originalthings152) on

I am hoping that this link work.  Somehow this photo is not in my phone.

I now face a new challenge, how to color it.  Obviously melted crayons will not work.

So I could go with acrylic paint from the Dollar Tree.  But I do not have much of a selection.

20160719_163810[1]

Or the watercolor pencils.  Or I can use both.  Watercolor pencils for the background while the acrylic paint for the horses or reverse.  This is suppose to be fun, not causing stress.

Speaking of fun, I took 2 sheets from the art sketch pad.  Remember where the computer paper was better than that paper?  One sheet, I coated it with white paint while the second one, I didn’t nothing.  Actually I forgot.  I brought some rubbing alcohol spray at the Dollar Tree, and added a few drops of the paint.  I sprayed the paper, and sprayed it in several layers.  The green had the white paint undercoat.

20160803_135430[1] 20160803_135455[1]

I am quite please with the result.  The green reminds me of the Northern lights.  But if you are asking of what I am going to do.  Simple, I haven’t got the foggiest idea.

 

Author: lesleysoriginalthings

I have an online business where I sell handmade items including cards, teddy bears, scarves and bags.

Leave a Reply

