Original Things

Original things for original people.

Outside the Box

Leave a comment

A couple of weeks, I was hanging out with my friend W, where I told him about the “Cheap Art Challenge” and what I was planning.  Even though, he did like the sketch of the horses I showed him, he told me the idea of a challenge  is to think outside of the box.  Which is true, however to me, it means portraits.

Portraits are not outside of the box for me, they are more like I am standing in the middle in the dark, scary forest being chased down by monsters and my flashlight is going out.

Apparently, his words were stuck in my mind because the next day, I went to the Dollar Tree to pick up some more aluminum tape.  They were out, so I ended up picking small magnets for album closures.  While I was walking around, I found this.

20160817_222748[1]8 inch circle canvas.  That is definitely outside of the box because I never used a circle canvas before.  So that with these markers, I also ended up picking up poster board.  I need a cover for an upcoming album.  But that for another post.

Now I am facing the “White Background” syndrome again.  Even though, I am planning to use the markers as sprays, but then what.

The circle reminds me of one of those portholes, (I think that is what you call them).  Anyway, it remind me of either on a ship or in a submarine, where you are peeking out to see life underwater.

Except Vicky Papaioannou from http://www.clips-n-cuts.com/2016/08/art-journal-layout-vitamin-sea/  .  I don’t know of why I can’t insert that link.  She is a very good artist when it comes to art journaling and cards.  She is one of my favourite channels on You Tube.  Anyway, she recently did a journal piece of a the porthole.

You see of where I am getting at.  Even though, they say imitation is the best form of flattery.  But kids also say,

Lesley is a copycat.

Lesley is a copycat.

Good grief.

The other day, while working on my order and feeling like a cooked turkey.  The temperature was 29C and my AC was broken.  I could feel my brain frying.  Which could explain my next idea.  I thought of finger-painting for the canvas.  Then giving melted crayons another chance.  Explain the brain frying.

Finger-paint is out side of the box and free, but again, what do I paint?  I kept thinking pumpkins. Why am I obsessed with them all of the sudden is a good question.  I don’t have the answer to that.  Finger-paint, I can do flowers, but I can’t do small detail work.

I am going to let it sit for now.  I want to work on the horse one for a bit.  And do a couple of tests on the poster board.  Here are some cards that I recently complete for an order that was due today.

 

Author: lesleysoriginalthings

I have an online business where I sell handmade items including cards, teddy bears, scarves and bags.

Leave a Reply

