Original Things

Original things for original people.

Christmas Bentley Sale

Leave a comment

The sale came and went.  It wasn’t my best sale, but it wasn’t the worst.  Unless you asked my back, and it will tell you it was.  Sitting in that hard chair for over 6 hours, despite the fact, that I did walk around and go to the bathroom.  But I think I might have strained it because it was still hurting two days later. And I was taking some pretty heavy painkillers.  I don’t like taking those painkillers unless I am in really bad pain.  And I was.

What did me in, besides the chair, was there was a booth next to us.  The ladies were selling cards for a $1.  And yes, you are reading it right.  So who wants to buy a $3 card where there are cards selling for a $1 each.   I only sold one card.

I didn’t sell any dishcloths which I was surprised.

Then again, last year, I had 4 cards for $6 and 3 dishcloths for $5.  And with the cost of material going up, I had to raised my prices.

A from the store in Bentley was happy that I was actually raising my prices.  It is hard to figure out of the prices on cards.   Sure, I can figure out the cost of paper and stickers.  But when it comes to ink or a stamp.  How do I factor in those costs.  Obviously, I cannot throw in the price of an inkpad on every card.

But she wasn’t happy about those ladies.  She told me that she always tried to sit people who are selling the same craft across the room.  Not side by side.  And she couldn’t believe that they were selling their cards for $1.

But I did get a bonus.  A gave me an envelope punch.  I’ve been dying to get my hands on one, but they are like $40.  So I am happy and been waiting for a time to try it out.  Also to send a picture to J to make her jealous.  Petty, I know.  But oh well, blame it on the painkillers.  The problem is waiting until my back is better.   I am still make a couple of cards.  Besides it is a good excuse to try out the punch, but I have to bring some to my hairdresser next week.  And make one for J, the fellow cardmaker.  So yeah, no pressure.

Author: lesleysoriginalthings

I have an online business where I sell handmade items including cards, teddy bears, scarves and bags.

Leave a Reply

